Tags

, , ,

I love a good brawler. Or a scrolling beat ’em up. You should be familiar with the genre; many folks’ favourite games come from within. Final Fight, Bare Knuckle (aka Streets of Rage), Golden Axe, Dungeons and Dragons, and various others.

IMG_0138.JPG
There are a few, particularly on the Super Famicom or SNES, that I didn’t play back in the day. The Rushing Beat series, Undercover Cops, Ninja Warriors Again, and Captain Commando, being the highlights. Those games all have something else in common – price. Insanely high prices, in fact. A loose cart of each will most probably cost you the wrong side of £50 ($80). Captain Commando, however, was also released on the Sony Playstation. I had an eBay search going for both versions of this game for a few months, and somehow everyone else in the world forgot to bid on one that sold for $69. Honestly, that is almost 50% cheaper than normal. I felt very lucky.
IMG_0151.JPG
Anyhow, this game arrived today and I had a brilliant time playing it. I bloody love it … If you have the coins, please do yourself a favour and grab this mad but wonderful game!
IMG_0137.JPG
It is three player sim! That is fully awesome … I hope to cajole both of my robot daughters into playing it with me one day!

IMG_0139.JPG
The instruction manual has only this single screen shot! Weird.

IMG_0140.JPGBaby Commando! Sure, why not 🙂

IMG_0141.JPG
Beware the trio of lesbians for they wield electric tuning forks, and they are not afraid to use them. Curiously fetching bunch, too; all called Carol.

IMG_0142.JPG
This gentleman is tough: interestingly his name seems to be Sh1t Rom Jr.

IMG_0143.JPG
Turns out a giant sword is pretty effective.

IMG_0144.JPGTime for some fun chasing ninjas on motorised surfboards. I’m in.

IMG_0145.JPG
Now to chase the mad scientist into the sewer! But of course.

IMG_0146.JPG
One scientist down!

IMG_0147.JPG
This large lady, with whom I’d have no quarrel, has 2 attacks; one is to hurl you forcefully across the screen and the other is to vomit a pool of purest green at you.

IMG_0148.JPG
And the last piece of the classic brawler puzzle – the fish-man with extendible claw hands.

SOMEHOW, YOU MUST PLAY THIS GAME!
My day one rating: 9/10.

